He’s Tom. He’s a cat.

This is my cat. His name is Tom. We already had two cats when we got him, so we didn’t put a lot of creative energy into naming him.

He lived outdoors for at least a year before we adopted him, and has the attitude and scars to prove it (there’s one — a scar, not an attitude — you might be able to see on his nose in the picture below). He’s fat and happy now that’s he’s living the indoor life. His hobbies include getting really mad at birds, and biting any human that attempts to pet him.

In this photo, he’s holding down one of his favorite positions on the kitchen window sill that looks out into our front yard. It’s a defensive posture from which we have trouble getting him down. He hunkers behind a ceramic cat mobile that he can tangle himself into should one of us stop by and feel the need to pick him up for some much-hated hugging.

They say that, unlike dogs, cats can’t show emotions via facial expressions. After viewing the contempt in his face that’s shown in this picture, I challenge anyone to agree with that contention.

He’s Tom. He’s such a kitty.

Tom says: "Just try picking me up from here. Just try."

Tom says: "Just try picking me up from here. Just try."

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “He’s Tom. He’s a cat.”

  1. tom1950 Says:

    I’ve been around cats all my life and I think you’ve pegged Tom’s attitude just right. I can’t see his tail, but I bet just the last three inches of it is twitching slowly from right to left. Any cat named Tom can’t be all bad.

    T.O.M.

  2. Jessica Says:

    I think the emotion they are talking about are the kinder, softer ones…cats cannot let ANYONE know they have a soft spot…

  3. wrjones Says:

    I don’t really know much about cats or their facial expressions, but he looks as though he is thinking, “if you blog about me I will rip out your liver and feed it to those birds I hate.”

  4. bensalvo Says:

    I know a Tom that looks just like this Tom, only the Tom I know always has an expression like, “I just ate a bar of soap because I’m stupid.” Orange tabby-cats are an interesting demographic.

  5. oscarstavern Says:

    He looks like mine!

  6. reallifedilbert Says:

    thanks for your comments on my humble blog, cheers!

    Tom looks very much like our cat and just as vicious apart from ours is female.

    Just image the offspring!

  7. duffboy Says:

    Kudos on instilling an indoors life for Tom. He might not enjoy it, heck, he might not agree with it, but he’ll thank you in the end… by not scratching your eyes out in his sleep. I’m guessing if you give enough of those hugs, he might get homicidal thoughts.

Leave a Reply

